Averyl Bidwell

Averyl Bidwell

Modified & Updated: 09 Sep 2023

Source: Larkdistillery.com

When it comes to whiskey, connoisseurs and enthusiasts are always on the lookout for the best of the best. That’s where the World Whiskies Awards come in. This prestigious event showcases the finest whiskies from around the globe, highlighting their unique flavors, craftsmanship, and innovation.

The World Whiskies Awards bring together experts and industry professionals to judge and recognize the exceptional whiskies in various categories. From single malts to blends, bourbon to rye, this event celebrates the diversity and excellence of whiskey production worldwide.

In this article, we’ll delve into 13 fascinating facts about the World Whiskies Awards. Whether you’re a whiskey aficionado or simply curious about the world of spirits, these facts will give you a deeper understanding of this esteemed event and the exceptional whiskies that it showcases.

Table of Contents

The World Whiskies Awards started in 2007.

Since its inception, the World Whiskies Awards has grown in popularity and is now considered one of the most respected whisky competitions worldwide.

It showcases whiskies from all over the world.

The competition brings together whiskies from both well-known whisky-producing countries like Scotland, Ireland, and the United States, as well as emerging whisky regions such as Japan, India, and Taiwan.

The judging process is rigorous.

Each whisky is blindly tasted and evaluated by a panel of expert judges who assess the aroma, taste, balance, and overall quality of the spirit.

The awards are divided into different categories.

The World Whiskies Awards recognizes the best whiskies across various categories including Single Malt, Blended, Bourbon, Rye, and more, ensuring a comprehensive celebration of the diverse whisky world.

Distilleries vie for the title of “World’s Best Whisky.”

Winning the prestigious title of “World’s Best Whisky” is the ultimate goal for participating distilleries, as it signifies their exceptional craftsmanship and dedication.

The awards celebrate innovation and creativity.

Aside from traditional categories, the World Whiskies Awards also honor whiskies that push the boundaries of innovation, whether through unique maturation techniques or experimental cask finishes.

Whisky enthusiasts eagerly anticipate the winners.

People who appreciate the art of whisky eagerly follow the World Whiskies Awards to discover new brands and expressions that deserve recognition and add to their collection.

The World Whiskies Awards encourages the exploration of different styles.

By highlighting exceptional whiskies from various regions, the competition inspires enthusiasts to broaden their whisky horizons and appreciate the diversity of flavors and techniques.

The event includes masterclasses and tastings.

Aside from the awards ceremony, the World Whiskies Awards also offer attendees the opportunity to attend masterclasses and tastings led by industry experts, providing a deeper understanding of the whiskies on display.

Previous winners gain significant recognition.

Winning a World Whiskies Award can significantly boost a distillery’s reputation and sales, as consumers equate these accolades with exceptional quality and craftsmanship.

The awards foster friendly competition.

Whisky producers and enthusiasts see the World Whiskies Awards as a platform that encourages healthy competition and raises the bar for the whisky industry as a whole.

The judging panel consists of renowned industry experts.

The World Whiskies Awards prides itself on assembling a panel of esteemed judges, including master distillers, blenders, journalists, and connoisseurs, ensuring a fair and knowledgeable evaluation process.

The World Whiskies Awards promote whisky appreciation worldwide.

By showcasing a wide range of exceptional whiskies, the awards contribute to the global understanding and appreciation of this beloved spirit.

In conclusion, the World Whiskies Awards is a highly anticipated event that celebrates the best whiskies from around the world. Through blind tastings and expert judging, distilleries have the opportunity to showcase their exceptional whiskies and gain recognition for their craftsmanship. Whether you’re a seasoned whisky enthusiast or just beginning to explore the world of whisky, the World Whiskies Awards offers a unique glimpse into the remarkable spirits that are being produced worldwide.


The World Whiskies Awards is a prestigious event that celebrates the finest whiskies from around the globe. With its rigorous judging process and industry experts as judges, it is an authoritative platform that recognizes excellence in the whisky industry. From single malts to bourbons, this event showcases the diverse and exceptional craftsmanship of distilleries worldwide.

By attending the World Whiskies Awards, whisky aficionados have the opportunity to discover new and exceptional expressions, gain insights into the world of whisky production, and celebrate the passion and dedication of distillers. Whether you’re a seasoned whisky enthusiast or just starting your journey, this event offers an unparalleled experience for all.

So, mark your calendars and immerse yourself in the world of whisky at the World Whiskies Awards. Cheers to the pursuit of excellence and the celebration of exceptional whiskies!


1. What are the World Whiskies Awards?

The World Whiskies Awards is an annual event that recognizes the best whiskies from around the world. It brings together industry experts to evaluate and celebrate the finest expressions of whisky craftsmanship.

2. How are the winners of the World Whiskies Awards determined?

The winners of the World Whiskies Awards are determined through a rigorous judging process. A panel of experienced judges blind-tastes and evaluates the whiskies based on various criteria including aroma, flavor, balance, and complexity.

3. Can anyone attend the World Whiskies Awards?

The World Whiskies Awards is primarily an industry event, but some categories may be open to the public. It is advisable to check the event’s official website for any public access information.

4. How can I participate in the World Whiskies Awards?

Participation in the World Whiskies Awards is limited to distilleries or brands that submit their whiskies for consideration. The submission process typically takes place in advance of the event, and specific guidelines can be found on the event’s official website.

5. Are there different categories within the World Whiskies Awards?

Yes, the World Whiskies Awards feature various categories, including single malts, blends, bourbons, and more. Each category recognizes excellence in a particular style or type of whisky.

6. How can attending the World Whiskies Awards benefit whisky enthusiasts?

Attending the World Whiskies Awards provides whisky enthusiasts with the opportunity to discover new and exceptional expressions, learn about whisky production techniques, and connect with industry professionals and fellow enthusiasts.

7. Are tickets required to attend the World Whiskies Awards?

Ticketing requirements may vary depending on the event and its specific sessions. It is recommended to check the official website of the World Whiskies Awards for ticket information and availability.