Floris Rosenthal

Floris Rosenthal

Modified & Updated: 08 Oct 2023

Source: Worldskate.org

The World Inline Hockey Championships is a highly anticipated sporting event that gathers the best inline hockey players from around the globe. This tournament showcases the thrilling and fast-paced nature of inline hockey, with teams competing for the ultimate title of world champions. As an SEO expert with a deep understanding of events and a passion for inline hockey, I am excited to share with you 12 fascinating facts about the World Inline Hockey Championships. From the tournament’s history and format to notable records and memorable moments, this article will provide an in-depth look into this prestigious event. So, lace up your skates and get ready to delve into the world of inline hockey championships!

Table of Contents

Inline hockey, also known as roller hockey, is a fast-paced sport played on a smooth surface.

The World Inline Hockey Championships brings together teams from around the globe to compete in this thrilling sport. Players glide across the rink on roller skates, showcasing their speed, agility, and stick-handling skills.

The World Inline Hockey Championships have been held annually since 1995.

For over two decades, this prestigious tournament has served as a platform for the world’s top inline hockey nations to showcase their talent and vie for the coveted title of world champions.

The championship tournament features both men’s and women’s divisions.

Equal opportunity is given to male and female players, with separate competitions allowing for the recognition and celebration of skill and talent in the sport.

The competition is organized by the International Roller Sports Federation (FIRS).

FIRS, the governing body for roller sports worldwide, ensures that the tournament adheres to strict rules and regulations, ensuring fair play and safety for all participants.

Teams from over 30 countries participate in the World Inline Hockey Championships.

The tournament attracts a diverse range of teams from all corners of the globe, representing their nations with pride and passion.

The championship features various age divisions, including junior, senior, and masters.

Players of different age groups get the opportunity to showcase their skills and compete against their peers in their respective divisions.

The tournament follows a round-robin format, followed by knockout stages.

Teams are initially grouped into pools and play against each other to determine their ranking. The top teams from each pool advance to the knockout stages, leading up to the final match.

Previous editions of the World Inline Hockey Championships have been held in countries such as the United States, Italy, Germany, and the Czech Republic.

This global event travels to different host nations each year, providing an opportunity for fans around the world to witness the excitement firsthand.

The World Inline Hockey Championships attract a passionate fan base.

Hockey enthusiasts from across the globe come together to support their favorite teams, creating a vibrant and electric atmosphere throughout the tournament.

The tournament showcases incredible displays of skill, teamwork, and sportsmanship.

From lightning-fast inline skating to precision passing and spectacular goals, the World Inline Hockey Championships never fail to amaze spectators with the level of talent on display.

Many players who have excelled in inline hockey have gone on to have successful careers in ice hockey.

Inline hockey provides a platform for players to hone their skills, and several have made a successful transition to the ice, competing at the highest level in professional ice hockey leagues.

The World Inline Hockey Championships inspire young players and help grow the sport globally.

By showcasing the best inline hockey talent from around the world, the tournament encourages young players to pursue their passion for the sport, while also increasing its popularity and reach on a global scale.


In conclusion, the World Inline Hockey Championships is a thrilling and competitive event that brings together teams from around the globe. With its fast-paced action and skilled players, it is a must-watch for any hockey enthusiast. From the nail-biting matches to the passionate fans, the championships never fail to leave a lasting impression.

Whether you are a player, a spectator, or simply someone who appreciates the sport, the World Inline Hockey Championships offer a unique experience that showcases the best of inline hockey. So mark your calendars and get ready to witness some of the most exciting moments in the sport’s history!


1. When and where does the World Inline Hockey Championships take place?

The World Inline Hockey Championships are held annually at various locations around the world. The host country and dates of the tournament are announced well in advance, allowing teams and fans to plan their attendance accordingly.

2. How many teams participate in the championships?

The number of participating teams can vary from year to year, but typically around 20 to 30 teams compete in the World Inline Hockey Championships. These teams represent countries from all continents, showcasing the international appeal of the sport.

3. What is the format of the tournament?

The tournament follows a round-robin format, where teams are divided into groups and compete against each other in a series of matches. The top teams from each group then advance to the knockout stages, which include quarterfinals, semifinals, and ultimately, the grand final to determine the champion.

4. How can I get tickets to attend the World Inline Hockey Championships?

Ticketing information and details on how to purchase tickets are usually available on the official website of the championships or through authorized ticketing platforms. It is recommended to book tickets in advance to secure your spot at this popular sporting event.

5. Are there any age restrictions for players?

There are different age categories in the World Inline Hockey Championships to ensure fair competition. These categories typically include junior, senior, and masters divisions, allowing players of various ages to participate and showcase their skills on the international stage.